theatre of silence

Related Overviews

Jean-Jacques Bernard (1888—1972)

Gaston Baty (1885—1952)

Maurice Maeterlinck (1862—1949) Belgian poet, dramatist, and essayist

Anton Chekhov (1860—1904) Russian dramatist and short-story writer

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Theatre


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Also called ‘theatre of the unexpressed’. Term applied to a group of French writers of the 1920s, led by Gaston Baty, Jean-Jacques Bernard and Denys Amiel (1884–1977), who rejected traditional ...

Subjects: Theatre.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.