Related Overviews

Jerome (c. 347—420)

St Paul of Thebes (d. c. 340)

St Pachomius (c. 290—346)

St Antony (251—356)


'Thebaid' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Christianity


Quick Reference

The upper part of the Nile valley (named after its capital, Thebes). From the 3rd cent. it was the cradle of Christian monasticism.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries