Theme and Variations

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Ballet in one act with choreography by Balanchine, music by Tchaikovsky, designs by Woodman Thompson. Premiered 26 Nov. 1947 by Ballet Theatre in New York, with Alonso and Youskevitch. A plotless ballet set in a chandeliered ballroom, it is Balanchine's homage to the Imperial Russian ballet tradition within which he trained and in particular to Petipa's The Sleeping Beauty. It is set to the final movement of Tchaikovsky's Suite for Orchestra No. 3. It has been taken into the repertories of many companies including New York City Ballet, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, Dutch National Ballet, Sadler's Wells Royal Ballet, the Kirov Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, the Royal Ballet, and the Royal Danish Ballet. In 1970 Balanchine choreographed the first three movements of Tchaikovsky's suite. The complete ballet is called Suite No. 3.

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.