Related Overviews

Pericles (c. 495—429 bc) Athenian statesman and general

Eubulus (c. 405—335 bc)

Aristophanes (c. 448—380 bc) Greek comic dramatist

Lycurgus (c. 390—325 bc)

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'theōrika' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Classical Studies


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

‘spectacle’ grants, paid by the state to the citizens of Athens to enable them to attend the competitions in drama. Attributions of these grants to Pericles (who introduced payment for jurors) and to Agyrrhius (who introduced payment for attending the assembly) are both undermined by the silence of Aristophanes on the subject, and the likeliest attribution is to Eubulus in the 350s bc. In peace time the fund received not only a regular allocation but also any surplus revenue, and became rich enough to pay for a variety of projects; this, together with the fact that the treasurer of the fund was elected and could be re‐elected, and shared with the council the oversight of the old financial committees, made the fund and its treasurer very powerful. A law of the 330s weakened the treasurer, but a similarly powerful position in Athenian finance was occupied in the 330s and 320s by Lycurgus.

Subjects: Classical Studies.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.