three realms

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt., tridhātu).

The hierarchical structure of a universe or ‘world-system’ according to Buddhist cosmology.comprising the Desire Realm (kāma-dhātu), the Form Realm (rūpa-dhātu), and the Formless Realm (ārūpya-dhātu). Also known by the alternative designation of the ‘three worlds’ (triloka).

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.