Colin Thubron

(b. 1939)

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1939– ),

novelist and travel writer, born in London. His travel writings began in the eastern Mediterranean and include Mirror to Damascus (1967), The Hills of Adonis (1968), and Journey into Cyprus (1975), which provided the setting for his first novel, The God in the Mountain (1977). Later travel books took on increasingly difficult terrain, and include Among the Russians (1983), Behind the Wall (1987, a journey through China), The Lost Heart of Asia (1994), In Siberia (1999), and Shadows of the Silk Road (2006). His novels, which also tend to emphasize man's essentially solitary or estranged condition, include Emperor (1978); A Cruel Madness (1984), set in a mental institution; Falling (1989); Turning Back the Sun (1991), about love, exile, and tensions between the native and white populations of a remote town in an un‐named country; Distance (1996), an exploration of time, love, and memory through the narration of an amnesiac astrophysicist; and To the Last City (2002), about a group of European travellers exploring Peru.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.