Gillian Tindall

(b. 1938)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1938– ),

novelist, short‐story writer, critic and historian, born in London and educated at Oxford. Her works, which show a keen and sensitive interest in contemporary social and moral issues, and frequently feature the dilemmas of the liberal conscience, include the novels The Youngest (1967), about a mother who gives birth to a deformed child; Fly Away Home (1971), an exploration of an early marriage; The Traveller and His Child (1975); and The Intruder (1979). Short story collections include Dances of Death (1973), The China Egg (1981), and Journey of a Lifetime (1990). Tindall's sense of the influence and importance of place is evident in The Fields Beneath (1977), a topographical study of Kentish Town, in north London; City of Gold (1981), a ‘biography’ of Bombay; and Célestine (1995), a study of a French village. The Man Who Drew London (2002) is a semi‐fictionalized biography of 17th‐cent. engraver Wenceslaus Hollar.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.