Related Overviews


'trilakṣaṇa' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt.; Pāli, tilakkhaṇa).

The three characteristics or marks of all conditioned phenomena. They are impermance (anitya), suffering (duḥkha), and absence of self (anātman). Although separate, they are also interrelated: it is because things are impermanent that they involve suffering, and it is a corollary of their impermanence that they have no enduring self or core. The implications of the three marks are set out in the first two of the Four Noble Truths.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.