Lionel Trilling


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


American critic, whose many works include The Liberal Imagination (1950), The Opposing Self (1955), and Sincerity and Authenticity (1972). His works are written from the standpoint of liberal humanism and manifest an admiration for Freud. He also wrote one novel, The Middle of the Journey (1947).

Subjects: Literature.

Works by Lionel Trilling

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.