Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt.; Pāli, tiratna).

Also ratna-traya. The ‘three jewels’ or ‘triple gem’ revered by all Buddhists and constituting the nucleus of the faith, namely the Buddha.the Dharma (the teachings), and the Saṃgha (the monastic community). The three jewels are also referred to as the ‘three refuges’ (triśaraṇa).

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.