archiepiscopal diocese of Tuam

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Though this Irish see had bishops in the early 12th cent., the Council of Kells‐Mellifont (1152) established it as an archbishopric, carved out of Armagh province, with six dioceses in the far west of Ireland. Tuam is still a catholic archbishopric, but in 1839 the Anglican province of Tuam was reunited with Armagh.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.