Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Became independent within the Commonwealth in 1978. It was formerly the Ellice Islands and was part of the Gilbert and Ellice colony. The nine small islands lie some 2,500 miles north‐east of Australia.

Subjects: World History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.