Twelve Great Feasts

Quick Reference

In the E. Church, the twelve chief feast days in the liturgical year: Epiphany (6 Jan.), Presentation of Christ in the Temple (2 Feb.), Annunciation of the BVM (25 March), Palm Sunday, Ascension Day, Pentecost, Transfiguration (6 Aug.), Dormition of BVM (15 Aug.), Nativity of BVM (8 Sept.), Holy Cross (14 Sept.), Presentation of BVM in the Temple (21 Nov.), and Christmas Day (25 Dec.). Easter Day stands in a class by itself.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries