Twenty-second Amendment

Related Overviews

Constitution of the United States

George Washington (1732—1799) revolutionary army officer and president of the United States of America

Thomas Jefferson (1743—1826) revolutionary politician and president of the United States of America

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882—1945) American Democratic statesman, 32nd President of the US 1933–45

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'Twenty-second Amendment' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Law


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

George Washington declined a third term as president for “the shade of retirement.” Thomas Jefferson, citing Washington's example, declined a third term to make the two‐term limit a principle. No ...

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.