Twice-Told Tales

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

39 stories by Hawthorne, printed in The Token, collected (1837) and enlarged (1842). Among the tales, many of them marked by the author's interest in the supernatural, are sketches of New England history, like “The Grey Champion,” “Endicott and the Red Cross,” “The Maypole of Merrymount,” and the four “Legends of the Province House,” which include “Howe's Masquerade” and “Lady Eleanor's Mantle”; stories of incident, like “Mr. Higginbotham's Catastrophe”; and moral allegories, like “The Minister's Black Veil,” “Dr. Heidegger's Experiment,” and “The Ambitious Guest.”

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804—1864) American novelist and short-story writer

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.