Uniat Churches

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The Churches of E. Christendom in communion with Rome, which retain their respective languages and rites in accordance with the terms of their union; these usually provide for Communion in both kinds, Baptism by immersion, and marriage of the clergy. They used to retain their own canon law, but in 1990 a code for all the Uniat Churches was promulgated. The main groups are the Maronites, Syrians, Malankarese, of the Antiochene rite; the Armenians; the Chaldeans and Malabrese of the Chaldean rite; the Copts and Ethiopians, of the Alexandrian rite; and of the Byzantine rite, the Ukrainians, Hungarians, Romanians, Melchites, and some Bulgars, Serbs, and Greeks.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.