unitary authority

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An all-purpose local authority created under the Local Government Act 1992 and subsequent legislation to replace the two-tier system of local government by county and district councils. Unitary authorities were established in Wales (and Scotland) in April 1996 and in certain nonmetropolitan counties in England between 1996 and 1998; single-tier authorities also administer the former metropolitan county areas (since 1986) and the Isle of Wight (since 1995). See Local Government Commission for England.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.