Related Overviews


'upādāna-skandha' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt.). The ‘aggregates of attachment’, or the five aggregates (skandha) seen as the source or the object of grasping (upādāna). The final part of the first Noble Truth (see Four Noble Truths) states that ‘the five aggregates of attachment are suffering’ (duḥkha). This means both that suffering is intrinsic to embodied existence, and that such existence itself leads to grasping after pleasurable sensations, generating an endless cycle of suffering in saṃsāra.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.