Edward Upward


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist, educated at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, with Isherwood, whose lifelong friend he became. Works include Journey to the Border (1938); The Railway Accident and Other Stories (1969); his trilogy In the Thirties (1962), The Rotten Elements (1969), No Home but the Struggle (1977), published together as The Spiral Ascent (1977), describing the alternating political and artistic conflicts in the life of Marxist poet and schoolmaster Alan Sebriel. Upward was for some years a member of the Communist Party. Scenic Railway (1997) is a collection of short stories.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.