Henry Van Dyke


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1852–1933), Presbyterian minister, later a professor at Princeton (1900–1923), was the author of a great many books, extremely popular in their time, which include essays on outdoor life, such as Little Rivers (1895) and Fisherman's Luck (1899); moralistic essays, first delivered as sermons, such as The Story of the Other Wise Man (1896) and The First Christmas Tree (1897); collections of short stories and romances, including The Ruling Passion (1901), The Blue Flower (1902), and The Unknown Quantity (1912); volumes of travel sketches; melodious but facile poems; and volumes of literary criticism, distinguished for their graceful style but representative of the Victorian standards of taste. He served as minister to the Netherlands (1913–17), but resigned because he could not reconcile service in a neutral country with his ardent desire to arouse public opinion against Germany.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.