More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Religion


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Each of the four Hindu castes, Brahman, Kshatriya, Vaisya, and Sudra. In the Vedic religion of the ancient Aryans, the first three classes of society were Brahman, Kshatriya, and Vaisya. The fourth class, Sudra, was probably added later after contact with the indigenous people of the subcontinent. Each class was considered equally necessary to the social order, the separate functions being complementary.

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.