Related Overviews


'vedanā' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt., Pāli; feeling).

The psycho-physiological faculty of experiencing sensations. Vedanā is the faculty that is said to ‘taste’ or ‘relish’ experiences, and these experiences are classified into three kinds, as pleasant, unpleasant, or neutral. Again, there are said to be six classes of feelings, corresponding to each of the six sense-organs (eye, ear, nose, tongue, body and mind). Vedanā is the second of the five aggregates (skandha), and embraces all phenomena relating to the affective dimension of human experience. It is also the seventh link in the chain of Dependent Origination (pratītya-samutpāda) where it follows the sixth link, the contact between the senses and their object (sparśa) and gives rise to craving (tṛṣṇā), the eighth link.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.