A Village Romeo and Juliet

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Opera in 6 tableaux by Delius to Ger. lib. by composer based on short story Romeo und Julia auf dem Dorfe from coll. of Novellen entitled Die Leute von Seldwyla (1856) by Gottfried Keller (1819–90). Comp. 1899–1901. Prod. Berlin 1907, cond. Cassirer, London CG 1910, cond. Beecham, Washingon DC 1972. The intermezzo between scenes 5 and 6 was rewritten and extended in 1906 to cover the scene‐change and became known in the concert‐hall as the ‘Walk to the Paradise Garden’. Suite for orch. arr. Fenby (1948).

Subjects: Opera.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.