Violin Concerto

'Violin Concerto' can also refer to...

Violin Concerto

A Viennese violin concerto Franz Clement, Violin concerto in D major (1805), ed. Clive Brown, Recent Researches in the Music of the 19th and early 20th centuries, lxi (Middleton WI: A-R Editions, 2005), full score $112, piano and violin set $36

Violin concertos, arias and sextets

Review: Violin Concerto No. 1; Concerto for Orchestra, Symphony No. 3; Passio et mors Domini nostri Iesu Christi secundum Lucam


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Dance


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Ballet in one act with choreography by Balanchine, music by Stravinsky, and lighting by R. Bates. Premiered 18 Jun. 1972 by New York City Ballet at the State Theater in New York, with von Aroldingen, Mazzo, Bonnefoux, and Martins. A plotless ballet for two couples and a corps de ballet of sixteen, it was made for New York City Ballet's Stravinsky Festival. It features two strongly contrasting pas de deux. The work, later renamed Stravinsky Violin Concerto, has been revived for many other companies, including the Paris Opera Ballet (1989), the Royal Ballet (1990), San Francisco Ballet (1995), and Birmingham Royal Ballet (2007). Balanchine used the same music for his 1941 ballet, Balustrade.

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.