Roman Vlad

(b. 1919)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Cernäuti, 1919).

Romanian composer and writer. Comp. in 12‐note idiom from 1943. Taught at Dartington summer sch., 1954 and 1955. Art. dir., Accademia Filarmonica Romana 1955–8, Maggio Musicale, Florence, 1964, and Teatro Comunale, Florence, 1968–72. Art. dir. Ravello Mus. Fest. from 1975, RIA Orch. 1976–80, La Scala, Milan, 1994–7. Prof. of comp., Perugia Cons. from 1968. Contributor to several periodicals; author of book on Stravinsky (Eng. trans. 1967). Works incl. opera Storia di una mamma (1950–1), ballets La strada sul caffé (1944), La dama delle camelie (1945), Sinfonia all' antica, orch. (1947–8), Variazioni concertanti, pf. and orch., based on series of 12 notes in Mozart's Don Giovanni, Serenata for str., De Profundis, sop., ch., and orch. (1949); Cantata No.3, ch., orch. (1952–3); Music for Str. No.1 (1955–7), No.2 (1988); Divertimento sinfonico, orch. (1965–7); The Seagull, ballet after Chekhov (1968); The Magic Flute of Severino, fl., pf. (1971); The Dream, opera after Strindberg (1973); Meditations on an Old Russian Tune, orch. (1982); Sestupla melodia, 11 str. (1993); The Japanese Seasons, 70 haiku (1994); Mutations, gui. (1996). Has written biographies of Stravinsky and Dallapiccola and A History of Twelve‐Tone Music (1958).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.