David Wagoner

(b. 1926)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Ohio, a professor at the University of Washington since 1954, is best known as a poet of quiet and accomplished lyric power, often writing of the Northwestern scene. His poems are collected in Dry Sun, Dry Wind (1953), A Place to Stand (1958), The Nesting Ground (1963), Staying Alive (1966), New and Selected Poems (1969), Working Against Time (1970), Riverbed (1972), Sleeping in the Woods (1974), Collected Poems (1976), In Broken Country (1979), and Landfall (1981). He has also written numerous novels, some serious fables set in the present day, others lighthearted tales of amusing adventures in the 19th-century U.S. They are The Man in the Middle (1954), Money Money Money (1955), Rock (1958), The Escape Artist (1965), Baby, Come On Inside (1968), Where Is My Wandering Boy Tonight? (1970), The Road to Many a Wonder (1974), Tracker (1975), Whole Hog (1976), The Hanging Garden (1980), and First Light (1983). He has written a volume of poems derived from the legendry of Northwest Indians, Who Shall Be the Sun? (1978), and edited as Straw for the Fire (1972) the notebooks of Theodore Roethke, who was a great influence upon him.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.