War and Peace

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Opera in 5 acts (13 scenes and epigraph) by Prokofiev, Op.91, to lib. by composer and Mira Mendelson based on Tolstoy's novel (1869). Comp. 1941–3, orch. 1946–7, 1948–53. F.p. (8 scenes, concert perf. with pf.) Moscow 1944; 9 scenes, concert with orch., Moscow 1945; 2‐evening vers., Leningrad 1946, 1947; new 1‐evening vers., Florence 1953; 11 scenes, Leningrad 1955; 13 scenes, cut, Moscow 1957; NBC tv, NY 1957; relatively complete, Moscow 1959; Leeds (concert) 1967; London (ENO) 1972; Boston 1974.

Subjects: Opera.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.