Robert Penn Warren

(1905—1989) American poet, novelist, and critic

Quick Reference


American poet, novelist, and critic. His novels include All the King's Men (1946), a study of a power‐crazed, corrupt Southern politician, Willie Stark; Band of Angels (1955); The Cave (1959); and Meet Me in the Green Glen (1971). His volumes of poetry include Selected Poems 1923–43 (1944), Promises (1957), Now and Then: Poems 1976–1978 (1978), and Portrait of a Father (1988). His critical works are associated with the New Criticism, and include two anthologies‐with‐commentaries, compiled in collaboration with Cleanth Brooks, Understanding Poetry (1938) and Understanding Fiction (1943).

Subjects: Literature.

Works by Robert Penn Warren