Auberon Waugh

(1939—2001) journalist and author

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist, provocative and iconoclastic journalist, diarist, political satirist, and editor from 1986 of the Literary Review. Son of the novelist E. Waugh, his own first novel, The Foxglove Saga (1960), was written after recovering from a serious accident with a machine gun in an army training exercise, and is based on his experiences of illness and of school and military life. His other novels are The Path of Dalliance (1963), Who Are the Violets Now? (1965), Consider the Lilies (1968), and A Bed of Flowers (1972). He published several works of non‐fiction, including collected articles from his columns in the Spectator and the Daily Telegraph, an autobiography (Will This Do?, 1991), and two volumes of diaries (1976, 1985).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.