Welsh Assembly

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The National Assembly for Wales, a body established by the Government of Wales Act 1998. The Assembly has 60 elected salaried members. It does not have legislative or taxing powers, exercising instead a diverse range of functions, such as housing, education, economic development, and flood defence. In operation from 1999, the Assembly has taken over many of the powers and responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Wales. See devolution.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.