West Midlands

Quick Reference

The metropolitan county of West Midlands was the creation of the Local Government Act of 1972. It brought together the county boroughs of Birmingham, Wolverhampton, Walsall, Dudley, Warley and West Bromwich, Solihull, and Coventry. The county headquarters was at Birmingham. The authority was abolished by the Local Government Act of 1985.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries