Statute of Westminster

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Legislation on the status of British dominions. At the 1926 and 1930 Imperial Conferences pressure was exerted by the dominions of Canada, New Zealand, the Commonwealth of Australia, the Union of South Africa, Eire, and Newfoundland for full autonomy within the British Commonwealth. The result was the Statute of Westminster, accepted by each dominion Parliament, which recognized the right of each dominion to control its own domestic and foreign affairs, to establish a diplomatic corps, and to be represented at the League of Nations. It still left unresolved certain legal and constitutional questions – not least the status of the British crown. The Consequential Provisions Act (1949) allowed republics such as India to remain members of the Commonwealth.

Subjects: World History — British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.