Edmund White

(b. 1940)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1940– ),

American novelist and essayist, born in Cincinnati, Ohio. Nocturnes for the King of Naples (1978) is a non‐realistic novel dealing with homosexual themes which were pursued more realistically in A Boy's Own Story (1982), a poignant, poetic, frank yet restrained first‐person narration describing the gay adolescence of a child of divorced parents, both of whom are vividly evoked. This work brought him much acclaim, and was followed by the sequels The Beautiful Room is Empty (1988) and The Farewell Symphony (1997), the last of which moves into the AIDS era. His other works include States of Desire: Travels in Gay America (1980); the novels Caracole (1985), a Venetian fairy story, The Married Man (2000), and Fanny (2003), a fictional biography of the 19th‐cent. American feminist, Fanny Wright; and The Darker Proof: Stories from a Crisis (1987, with Mars‐Jones). My Lives (2006) is an autobiography.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Edmund White

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.