Stewart Edward White


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1873–1946), Michigan author, long resident in California, whose early experiences among rivermen, miners, and lumberjacks furnished the setting and subjects for his novels of rugged outdoor life, including The Claim Jumpers (1901), The Blazed Trail (1902), and The Rules of the Game (1910). His Story of California (1927) is a trilogy composed of three historical romances: Gold (1913), The Gray Dawn (1915), and The Rose Dawn (1920). Later novels include The Long Rifle (1932), Ranchero (1933), Folded Hills (1934), and Stampede (1942), set in California, and Wild Geese Calling (1940), about pioneer farmers in Alaska. Anchors to Windward (1943) and Speaking for Myself (1943) express his beliefs.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.