Antonia White


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


novelist and translator. Her convent childhood is described in her first autobiographical novel, Frost in May (1933). The heroine Nanda Grey becomes Clara Batchelor in her three subsequent novels, also largely autobiographical, The Lost Traveller (1950), The Sugar House (1952), and Beyond the Glass (1954); these give a vivid account of her experiences as an actress in provincial repertory, her struggles as a freelance copy‐writer, her complex relationship with her possessive father, and her descent into mental illness and confinement in an asylum. Antonia White also translated many of the novels of Colette and published an account of her reconversion to Catholicism, The Hound and the Falcon (1966).

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries
Works by Antonia White

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.