Ben Ames Williams


Related Overviews

Mary Chesnut (1823—1886)


'Ben Ames Williams' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1889–1953), born in Mississippi, graduated from Dartmouth (1910) and became a journalist in Boston until he published his first novel, All the Brothers Were Valiant (1919). Of his many popular novels, several are detective stories such as The Silver Forest (1926), The Dreadful Night (1928), and Money Musk (1932). Evered (1921), Audacity (1924), and Immortal Longings (1927) are concerned with Maine life; Black Pawl (1922), Touchstone (1930), Honeyflow (1932), Leave Her to Heaven (1944), and It's a Free Country (1945) are character studies; Splendor (1927) deals with newspapermen; Great Oaks (1930), Come Spring (1940), and Time of Peace (1942) are panoramas of American life; House Divided (1947) is a long novel about the Civil War; and The Unconquered (1953) deals with interracial strife in post-Civil War New Orleans. Thrifty Stock (1923) and other books collect his popular stories. He edited (1949) the Diary of life during the Confederacy by Mary Boykin Chesnut.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.