Winner Take Nothing

Related Overviews


'Winner Take Nothing' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

14 stories by Hemingway, published in 1933.

“The Light of the World,” set in a small town in the Middle West, has for its chief character a fat, blonde prostitute, who recalls nostalgically the prizefighter who furnished the one rudimentary romantic episode of her life. “A Clean, Well-Lighted Place” portrays the desolate lives of a waiter and a customer of a Spanish café. “The Sea Change” tells of the tragic separation of a young couple, when the girl drifts into a homosexual relation with another woman. “A Way You'll Never Be” describes the hysterical reaction of a young American officer in the Italian army, when he is relieved from active duty and thus has time to become aware of the significance of the war. “Homage to Switzerland” contains three vignettes of fatuous middle-class American tourists in Europe. “A Natural History of the Dead” is a bitter satire on the results of modern warfare. “The Gambler, the Nun, and the Radio” is concerned with two hospital patients, a Mexican gambler and an author, and the way in which the writer cynically plays upon the phrase “the opium of the people.”

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Ernest Hemingway (1899—1961) American novelist, short-story writer, and journalist

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.