James Wright


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Ohio-born poet, graduated from Kenyon College, received a Ph.D. from the University of Washington, and from 1966 on taught at Hunter College. His first book, The Green Wall (1957), in the Yale Series of Younger Poets, was followed by Saint Judas (1959), The Lion's Tail and Eyes (1962), The Branch Will Not Break (1963), Shall We Gather at the River? (1968), Collected Poems (1971, Pulitzer Prize), Two Citizens (1973), Moments of the Italian Summer (1976), To a Blossoming Pear Tree (1977), and This Journey (1982), whose poems are heavily imaged and often formal.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.