Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Religion


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Chin., ‘movement of the five animals’).

Taoist exercises, developed by Hua T'o (2nd/3rd cent. ce), to resist ageing, by adapting the different means through which animals distribute ch'i within the body. The five are bear, bird, monkey, stag, tiger.


Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.