Francis Wyndham

(b. 1924)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1924– ),

short‐story writer, editor and novelist, is the author of two volumes of interlinked short stories, Out of the War (1974) and Mrs Henderson and Other Stories (1985), and The Other Garden (1987), a novella set during the Second World War; his milieu is that of the slightly fraying nostalgic upper middle class and its bohemian fringes, and the sexuality of the older woman is a recurrent theme. The Collected Fiction (1992) has an introduction by A. Hollinghurst. Wyndham co‐edited (with Diana Melly) the Letters of J. Rhys (1984).

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.