Yale Series of Younger Poets

'Yale Series of Younger Poets' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Volumes issued annually since 1919 by Yale University Press to print the work of promising American poets under 40 who have not previously published a book of poetry. Stephen Vincent Benét, MacLeish, Auden, and Dudley Fitts have been judges of manuscripts submitted for this literary award and editors of the published books. Winners have included Hervey Allen (1921), Paul Engle (1932), James Agee (1934), Muriel Rukeyser (1935), Adrienne Rich (1951), John Ashbery (1956), John Hollander (1958), Alan Dugan (1961), and James Tate (1967).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.