Ann Yearsley

(1752—1806) poet and writer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


the daughter of a dairywoman, pursued her mother's trade. She published three collections of poems (Poems, on Several Occasions, 1785; Poems on Various Subjects, 1787; The Rural Lyre, 1796), a play, Earl Goodwin (1791), and a Gothic historical novel, The Royal Captives (1795), based on the story of the Man in the Iron Mask. See also Primitivism.

Subjects: Literature — Modern History (1700 to 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.