North Yorkshire

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The county of North Yorkshire was created by the Local Government Act of 1972. It was substantially different from the old North Riding, losing a slice to Cleveland, including Guisborough and Yarm, gaining Filey and Norton from the east riding, and adding a large part of the former West Riding, including Harrogate, Ripon, Knaresborough, Skipton, Selby, and Tadcaster. The county town is Northallerton.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.