South Yorkshire

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Since there was no south riding to build on, the metropolitan county of South Yorkshire, set up by the Local Government Act of 1972, was a new creation. It was based on the county boroughs of Sheffield, Rotherham, Barnsley, and Doncaster, augmented by parts of the West Riding, and parishes taken from Nottinghamshire. It was abolished under the Local Government Act of 1985.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.