West Yorkshire

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The new metropolitan county of West Yorkshire, established by the Local Government Act of 1972, was built upon the county boroughs of Leeds, Bradford, Halifax, Dewsbury, Huddersfield, and Wakefield. There were substantial changes compared with the old West Riding, which lost large areas in the north‐west to Cumbria and Lancashire; Harrogate, Ripon, and Selby to North Yorkshire; and a slice around Penistone and Cudworth to South Yorkshire. It was abolished with the other metropolitan counties in 1985.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.