'Zakah' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Islam


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Required almsgiving that is one of the five pillars of Islam. Muslims with financial means are required to give 2.5 percent of their net worth annually as zakah. To practicing Muslims, zakah connotes the path to purity, comprehension of material responsibility, and an enhanced sense of spirituality. Zakah is used for the needy, for propagation of the faith, to free slaves, to relieve debtors, to help travelers, and for the administration of zakah, as well as other efforts approved by religious authorities. The primary forms of wealth subject to zakah include gold, silver, livestock, agricultural produce, articles of trade, currency, shares and bonds, and other liquid assets.

Subjects: Islam.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.