Zwaardemaker smell system

'Zwaardemaker smell system' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Psychology


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A scheme for classifying smells based on nine fundamental or primary odours: ethereal (like ether or beeswax), aromatic (like spice or camphor), fragrant (like lavender or rose petals), ambrosiac (like amber or musk), alliaceous (like garlic or onion), empyreumatic (like roasted coffee or tobacco smoke), hircine (like strong cheese or rancid food), foul (like bedbugs or coriander flower), and nauseous (like faeces or rotten eggs). Compare Crocker-Henderson system, Henning's prism. [Named after the Dutch physiologist Hendrik Zwaardemaker (1857–1930) who published it in 1895]

Subjects: Psychology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.