eight auspicious symbols

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A set of eight symbols of good fortune of Indian provenance but very popular in Tibetan Buddhist circles where they are linked with various aspects of Buddhist teachings. The set comprises the golden fish (good fortune), the parasol (spiritual power), the right-turning conch shell (the fame of the Dharma), the Lotus (spiritual purity), the victory banner (victory of the Dharma), the treasure vase (spiritual and material fulfilment), the wheel (the perfection of the Dharma), and the endless knot (infinite wisdom of a Buddha).

Fig 9 eight auspicious symbols

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.