key stage

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The four chronological stages into which the national curriculum programmes of study are divided. These are: Key Stage 1 for ages 5–7; Key Stage 2 for ages 8–11; Key Stage 3 for ages 11–14; and Key Stage 4 for ages 14–16. Within the schools sector, education for 16–19‐year‐olds is sometimes referred to unofficially as ‘Key Stage 5’, although in reality schooling for this age group falls outside the bounds of the national curriculum.

Subjects: Education.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.