Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The three Kingdoms of ancient Egypt represent peaks in the development of early Egyptian society, separated by phases of disorder and decline. The Old Kingdom spans the 3rd to 6th Dynasties (c.2658–2150 bc); the Middle Kingdom spans the 12th to 13th Dynasties (c.2100–1750 bc); and the New Kingdom spans the 18th to 20th Dynasties (c.1550–1070 bc).

Subjects: Archaeology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.